I put sugar in my rice.

Dear Diary,

image

Dear Diary,

        I put sugar in my rice.

image

I hate stews generally. So whenever I have to eat white rice and stew, or jollof rice, if there is no banana to eat it with or a drink to down it with, then I sprinkle a teaspoon of sugar in the food to make enable my taste buds tolerate it.

Over the years, this habit has attracted a heckload of criticism from my mother, sisters and friends.

Do I care?
(let me think about it).

-_-

I haven’t heard people nag people that drink fizzy drinks or sweet juices with their food, I haven’t seen people glare at them in disapproval. People down 50cl bottles of Coke, Fanta and others, some even down an entire juice box and no one bats an eyelid. But when I sprinkle a teaspoon of sugar over my rice, then everyoneremembers to lecture me on diabetes.

Please spare me the hypocritical double standard.

Unlike most people I don’t sit on my behind all day, I exercise and sweat to burn all the sugar I take, which by the way, isn’t that much. And I only sugar my rice if there’s no drink around or a bunch of bananas. I don’t like rice that much.
And comparatively, sprinkling a teaspoon of sugar over my rice is much less than drinking a 50cl bottle of Fanta or an entire pack of 5 Alive juice.

So please let me hear word.

I am Nonso and I put sugar in my rice!!

image

18 thoughts on “I put sugar in my rice.

  1. Sugar in rice? Now that’s a first. I’ve heard I’m yam (which I strongly object to… Come on, Yam is already sweet, except it’s that Yoruba black poor excuse… I deviate), beans (I actually tried this once in jss1 boarding school. I hate beans but those evil caterpillars said it wld have taste if I added a cube or two. Proud to say that I haven’t eaten beans jollof beans to this day as a result), and a few others, but never rice. Oh Well, one man’s pomo is another man’s leather, shebi? Nonso, abeg ride on. If u catch Jedi Jedi, I will pray for u. If u no catch, I still dry pray for u. All these oversabi ppl, sugar is good. It’s only in excess that it’s bad. Even homey has a chemical that if taken in excess can negatively affect the system. I can go on and on about the negative effects of all them alternatives to sugar but… Ain’t nobody gat tym fo dat! Carry go abeg!

    Like

  2. I would have to disagree with you on that bit of not being picked on about drinking too much of fizzy drinks. I have all my life ever since I met my one true love *singing* Always Coca Cola 🙂

    Mum dearest #1 on the list doesn’t let me hear the last of it every time she sees me with a can/bottle of coke, but like you I don’t sit in one place and I know without a doubt I burn it.

    About the sugar on the rice, I must say i haven’t seen that before, but if anything I have come to terms with the fact that everyone has their preference and in the end *singing again* it’s my prerogative.
    Bye.

    Like

  3. nonso hmmmmm sugar is bad for ur health o… u drink garri a lot wif sugar everyday of ur lyf u seem to forget dat, av mercy on ur waist oooooooooooo….

    Like

What?

