On Being Stylish and Being a Label Whore

Dear Diary,

       On Being Stylish and Being a Label Whore
image

Fashion is the art and act of putting clothes on most importantly to cover our nakedness,
image
or not.

Fashion then performs other functions such as seduces people, tells people you’re a student or engineer or doctor or rich or a night walker or ‘stylish’ or whatever.

Fine.
But I don’t get why wearing designer pieces is such a fad.

Ok no, I take that back. I do. I would totally kill for a Burberry Trench, Bally shoes and all BVLGARI perfumes.

What I don’t get is why people have to TELL me (most likely with a fake accent) they are wearing designer pieces. Why?
image

WHY?

Does it necessarily make you more fashionable?

What really does it say about you?
image

Isn’t  the point of wearing FASHION to look good? So if I look good in my nameless outfit and you look equally as good in your Ralph Lauren or Tzar by Ian, does it make you better than me in some way?

Please explain.

People who wear watches they buy from Mallams and people who wear,N100,000 pure white Céline watches, don’t they both tell the same time? Abi does the Céline watch tell you the time of rapture?

I am not anti-designers o. Don’t get me wrong. I have a friend who is going to be the next Calvin Klein, Céline, Narcisso Rodriguez and Stella McCartney. How do I know all of these? Well, I was given a solid education on minimalist fashion designers and the art of minimalism in fashion. So I know and appreciate fashion. What I do not appreciate is placing so much premium on the name one wears over the actual clothes they wear regardless of whether the clothes fit or not.

Maybe I am just ignorant. But I am always open to be educated. So please educate me someone.
image

7 thoughts on “On Being Stylish and Being a Label Whore

  1. Abi does the Céline watch tell you the time of rapture?
    Oh that killed me.

    There’s a colleague of mine who bought this sunglasses by a well known label that I can’t remember now. And he kept walking around with the sunglasses on and the case ostensibly held in his hand. Everywhere. Sunglasses on. Case in hand. Like seriously, dude! We get it. You bought a pair of spectacles with a label. Can we please see your eyes now and maybe shake your hands?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The thing line between being fashionable and being a label whore as stated in the read “…placing so much premium on the name one wears over the actual clothes they wear….”
    Wonderful read.

    Like

  3. Well I for one appreciate quality and this can be from a designer (Gucci) or a regular tailor down the road.
    Funny thing’s half the time is I feel much better in them “regular” pieces cause people seem more blown away when it’s random, cheap and still looks that good.
    Also I’m Ijebu by heart & instantly shrink when I hear some prices for designer items. What annoys me more is half the time these items tend not to be the real deal as they could be duplicate copies.
    But hey in the end Chanel or made in China if I like it then am happy.
    In the end you give what you wear its’ worth and not the other way round.

    Like

What?

